Mayor Don Iveson and the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton (PACE) are pleased to announce the award nominees for the 28th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts. Tickets for this event are now on sale!

Mayor’s Award for Innovative Support by a Business for the Arts
Recognizing a local business that has invested in an arts organization, event, project or individual artist in the greater Edmonton area in a creative and original manner.
Happy Harbor Comics, nominated by Jeff Martin
Print Machine, nominated by Common Ground Arts Society

Mayor’s Award for Sustained Support of the Arts
Recognizing a business or an individual that has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to investing in Edmonton’s arts and culture industry through a specific arts organization, event, individual artist, or widespread investment in the arts.
ATB Financial, nominated by the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra
Audreys Books, nominated by LitFest and the Alberta Book Fair Society
• Pardee Badyal, nominated by Marlaina Eldey

John Poole Award for Promotion of the Arts
Recognizing an individual, arts organization, media organization or business that has promoted the arts in a distinctly creative or exceptional manner.
Alexis Marie Chute, nominated by Wes Lafortune
What It Is Podcast, nominated by Maggie Baird

ATB Financial Ambassador of the Arts Award
Recognizing a mid-career individual or organization successful on a national or international level, that enlightens audiences and promotes Edmonton’s rich cultural, performance or visual arts scene in an extraordinary way.
Catalyst Theatre, nominated by Janine Andrews
Chris Craddock, nominated by Trevor Schmidt
Rapid Fire Theatre, nominated by the Rapid Fire Theatre Board of Directors
Tammy-Jo Mortensen, nominated by Jennifer Annesley

ATCO Gas Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement
Recognizing an individual who, over a minimum of 25 years, has made an outstanding contribution to the arts in Edmonton.
• After careful deliberation, the awards jury for the ATCO Gas Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement is honouring just one individual, a true Edmonton gem, a musical legend who has celebrated a wildly successful career here at home and around the world. We cannot wait to announce this extremely deserving artist at the Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts on Monday, April 20 at the Winspear Centre. Join us then to find out who will receive the 2015 ATCO Gas Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement!

DIALOG Award for Excellence in Artistic Direction
Recognizing the outstanding achievement of an artistic leader in a specific arts discipline, actively leading and working in the greater Edmonton arts and culture sector.
Amy Shostak, nominated by Christopher Samuel
Byron Trevor Martin, nominated by Brianne Jang
John Hudson, nominated by Heidi Collins-McCann
• Steve Pirot, nominated by The Nextfest Arts Company
Gabriela Jessome, nominated by Sara Hernandez Madden and Trevor Madden

Mile Zero Dance Progressive Artist Award
Recognizing the achievements of Edmonton-based artists who actively work in the arts and engage with the community in challenging and exciting ways.
• Amy Shostak, nominated by Christopher Samuel
• Kelsie Acton, nominated by Brooke Leifso
Chaka Zinyemba, nominated by Tinashe Mtshiya
• Paul Freeman, nominated by the Nina Haggerty Centre for the Arts
• Jeannie Vandekerkhove, nominated by Daniela Masellis

Northlands Award for an Emerging Artist
Recognizing Edmonton’s valued, upcoming professionals – artists who, in the early stages of their careers, demonstrate exceptional talent and accomplishments, as well as a unique artistic expression and commitment to the arts in the Edmonton region.
Giselle Denis, nominated by Glori Meldrum
Jake Hastey, nominated by Richelle Thoreson
KazMega, nominated by Roya Yazdanmehr
Ahmed Knowmadic, nominated by Muna Saleh
Nuela Charles, nominated by Andrew Miller
Cayley Thomas, nominated by the International Day of Personal with Disabilities Planning Committee for Edmonton

Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize
Recognizing written work which deals with some aspect of the city of Edmonton: history, geography, current affairs, its arts or its people or is written by an Edmonton author.
• Rudy Wiebe, Come Back, Penguin Random House Canada
• Tim Bowling, Circa Nineteen Hundred and Grief, Gaspereau Press
• Greg Bechtel, Boundary Problems, Freehand Books

Syncrude Award for Excellence in Arts Management
Recognizing individuals or organizations who have demonstrated innovation, leadership and vision in the management of a professional arts organization.
Daniel Cournoyer, nominated by the Film and Visual Arts Society of Alberta
Jesse Szymanski, nominated by Ron E. Scott
Jill Roszell, nominated by Rose Ginther
Karen Brown-Fournell, nominated by Christine DeWitt
Paul Matwychuk, nominated by NeWest Press

TELUS Courage to Innovate Award
Recognizing an individual or organization that has displayed the courage to take artistic risks and embrace innovation in artistic expression, resulting in a unique and distinctive project.
Amber Borotsik, nominated by Ben Sures
Ariane Mahryke Lemire, nominated by Chris Martin
Chaka Zinyemba, nominated by Nonsikelelo Mathe
The Cultural Association Folklorical Ballet Mexico Lindo of Alberta, nominated by Sara Hernandez Madden and Trevor Madden

Youth Artist Award
Recognizing the importance of art and design to a youth’s education, and encouraging the development and education of young artists.
Collective Conscience, nominated by Eagle Vision Music and Design Studio
• Keiran MacDonald, nominated by Victoria School of the Arts

Congratulations to the 2015 Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts nominees. The Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts showcases Edmonton’s vibrant arts and culture industry by bringing together artists, the business community, media and arts appreciators to honour the valuable contributions Edmonton artists and arts champions make to our city.

Proceeds from this event support PACE’s advocacy efforts on behalf of professional artists in Edmonton, and will be shared with this year’s Charitable Partner, Theatre Network. We hope that you can join us!

The Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts

Monday, April 20, 2015 at 7pm

Winspear Centre of the Arts

Tickets now on sale!