Mayor Don Iveson and the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton (PACE) are pleased to announce the recipients of the 29th Annual Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts.

Mayor’s Award for Innovative Support by a Business for the Arts
Recognizing a local business that has invested in an arts organization, event, project or individual artist in the greater Edmonton area in a creative and original manner.
Reza Mostashari, President and CEO, Langham Developments Ltd
Nominated by Art Gallery of Alberta

Mayor’s Award for Sustained Support of the Arts
Recognizing a business that or an individual who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to investing in Edmonton’s arts and culture industry through a specific arts organization, event, individual artist, or widespread investment in the arts.
Rajammal Ram, Founder and Director, Kalanilayam School of Dancing
Nominated by Indra Mathew

John Poole Award for Promotion of the Arts
Recognizing an individual, arts organization, media organization or business that has promoted the arts in a distinctly creative or exceptional manner.
What It Is Podcast
Nominated by Seen and Heard in Edmonton

ATB Financial Ambassador of the Arts Award
Recognizing a mid-career individual or organization successful on a national or international level, that enlightens audiences and promotes Edmonton’s rich cultural, performance or visual arts scene in an extraordinary way.
Catalyst Theatre
Nominated by Janine Andrews

ATCO Gas Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement
Lyndal Osborne, Visual Artist; Professor Emeritus, University of Alberta
Nominated by the Art Gallery of Alberta

CN Youth Award
Recognizing the importance of art and design to a youth’s education, and encouraging the development and education of young artists.
Olivia Rose, Musician
Nominated by Victoria School of the Arts

Qualico Artistic Leadership Award
Recognizing an individual who or an organization that has blazed trails and made great impact on their community. This award will acknowledge outstanding achievement as an artistic leader, and celebrate those who have led others toward excellence in a specific arts discipline.
Christine Sokaymoh Frederick, Artistic Director, Alberta Aboriginal Arts

Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize
Recognizing written work which deals with some aspect of the city of Edmonton: history, geography, current affairs, its arts or its people or is written by an Edmonton author.
Richard Van Camp, Night Moves (pub. Enfield & Wizenty)

Syncrude Award for Excellence in Arts Management
Recognizing individuals or organizations who have demonstrated innovation, leadership and vision in the management of a professional arts organization.
April Dean, Executive Director, Society of Northern Alberta Print Artists (SNAP)

TELUS Courage to Innovate Award
Recognizing an individual or organization that has displayed the courage to take artistic risks and embrace innovation in artistic expression, resulting in a unique and distinctive project.
Sebastian Barrera, Musician; Founder, Creart Edmonton
Nominated by Parkdale Cromdale Community League

Emerging Artist Award
Recognizing Edmonton’s valued, upcoming professionals – artists who, in the  early stages of their careers, demonstrate exceptional talent and accomplishments, as well as a unique artistic expression and commitment to the arts in the Edmonton region.
Ben Gorodetsky, Improviser, Actor, Playwright, Director, Associate Artistic Director, Rapid Fire Theatre
Nominated by Todd Houseman

Congratulations to the 2016 Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts recipients and nominees. The Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts showcases Edmonton’s vibrant arts and culture industry by bringing together artists, the business community, media and arts appreciators to honour the valuable contributions Edmonton artists and arts champions make to our city.